Wednesday, May 18, 2011

Uganda and the East African community

The current iteration of the East African community took form in 2000 and now includes Uganda, Kenya, Tanzania, Rwanda and Burundi as members.

Vasco Martins, in a brief analysis published in May 2011 by the Portuguese Institute of International Relations and Security (IPRIS), makes the point that Ugandan President Yoweri Museveni is pushing for the creation of a political federation.

While this could lead to a significant political entity, there are many reasons why it may not come to fruition.

You can download a PDF of the brief here.

No comments:

Post a Comment