Thursday, October 13, 2022

Joint Western Statement on Hostilities in Northern Ethiopia

 The governments of Australia, Denmark, Germany, the Netherlands, the United Kingdom, and the United States issued on 12 October 2022 a "Joint Statement on Resumption of Hostilities in Northern Ethiopia."

The statement calls "on the Government of Ethiopia and the Tigray regional authorities to immediately halt their military offensives, agree to a cessation of hostilities, allow for unhindered and sustained humanitarian access, and pursue a negotiated settlement through peace talks under an African Union-led process.  We also condemn the escalating involvement of Eritrean military forces in northern Ethiopia.  We call on Eritrean forces to cease their military operations and withdraw from northern Ethiopia."