Saturday, February 25, 2023

Most African Countries Demand that Russia Leave Ukraine

 Members of the UN General Assembly voted by a wide margin on 23 February demanding that Russia end hostilities in Ukraine and withdraw its forces.  The vote was 141 in favor, 32 abstentions, and 7 against.  A majority of African countries supported the demand that Russian forces depart Ukraine.   

Fifteen (Algeria, Angola, Burundi, Central African Republic, Republic of Congo, Ethiopia, Gabon, Guinea, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Sudan, Togo, Uganda, and Zimbabwe) abstained on the resolution and seven (Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Equatorial Guinea, Eswatini, Guinea Bissau, Senegal, and Tanzania) did not vote.  Two African countries--Eritrea and Mali--joined Russia, Belarus, North Korea, Nicaragua, and Syria in opposing the resolution.  

In all, only 24 of Africa's 54 countries abstained, did not vote, or sided with Russia in opposing the resolution.